RSS

The Real Da Vinci Code – Leonardo da Vinci

30 May

The Real Da Vinci Code, hosted by Baldrick, was on ABC last night. It could have been, indeed I am sure was, interesting. The site on the head link above certainly is interesting, and I must remember to add it to my Salt Mine book rap on the subject. I am a Da Vinci Code sceptic.

There is of course much made in The Da Vinci Code of this in “The Last Supper”:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Is that a woman I saw you with last night? No, it was the Apostle John.


There is of course a different theory to the Mary Magdalene one Dan Brown lifted from Holy Blood, Holy Grail and that is that “the beloved disciple” really was just that, and that Leonardo, as a man whose sexuality was indeed ambivalent, gave that quite a literal turn. If anything this theory is more convincing than the other one, if equally speculative. For more, see WAS / IS YESHUA OF NAZARETH (JESUS CHRIST) GAY? on Religious Tolerance.com, very much an exercise in “on-the-one-hand-but-then-on-the-other” but interesting. I don’t find it blasphemous, in fact I find it rather inspiring.

But I felt it best not to raise the matter too clearly on the Salt Mine Site. I think I have enough there anyway to support any students who are coming to terms with being gay, and there are always some.

Site Meter

 
Comments Off on The Real Da Vinci Code – Leonardo da Vinci

Posted by on May 30, 2005 in book reviews, Christianity, Europe, faith and philosophy, Fiction, Gay and Lesbian, History, Salt Mine, TV

 

Comments are closed.

 
