RSS

On the enduring power of good teachers

26 Sep

Such is the title of a post written by fellow blogger Jim Belshaw in a welcome reference to this blog.

I see that Neil has started a new blog! This one focuses on teachers and teaching…

I think that teaching is a wonderful but badly underrated profession. The power of my best teachers has followed me down through my life. Many are now dead, but they endure in my memory.

Now that I am older and more reflective, I have started to record some of them to try to carry their memory on. I know that this will have limited effect, but it is my personal tribute…

I suppose that throughout my working life I have been a frustrated teacher. Certainly I believe that I have an obligation to pass my skills on, to encourage my people to think and question. In doing so, I would like to think that I am carrying on the influence of my key teachers.

Do read what Jim has to say. Jim’s career has principally been in public service.

 
Comments Off on On the enduring power of good teachers

Posted by on September 26, 2007 in inspiration, Teachers Who Change Lives, teaching

 

Comments are closed.

 
