RSS

DVD time

07 Sep

Thanks to Sirdan I have been able to see the 2007 movie There Will Be Blood directed by Paul Thomas Anderson and starring Daniel Day-Lewis, who is just superb. It is beautifully done but more than a tad melodramatic. The religious elements were, I thought, ham-fisted. See what others thought on the IMDB site. The DVD includes a fascinating documentary on the US oil industry — made in 1923.

there-will-be-blood

The other DVD came from Surry Hills Library, and a very peculiar movie it is: Pulse (2006), directed by Jim Sonzero, but one of the writers is the famous Wes Craven (Nightmare on Elm Street).

pulse-twins

It had its moments, but I don’t regard either my computer or my mobile phone at all differently after the experience… 😉 It is apparently a remake of a 2001 Japanese movie: see DVD Pick: “Pulse” and Pulse has dark images and an original scary concept.

Afters…

The first comment below led me to Rock Haven – Coming Out and Being Saved, about a movie I had never heard of, and a blog of interest:

My name is Jon-paul. I live in Oakland, California with my partner Gary. I was born on the island of Guam.  I enjoy traveling, writing, film and meeting interesting people.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2008 in film and dvd, movies, other blogs

 

4 responses to “DVD time

  1. tasithoughts

    September 7, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Thanks for your reviews on both films. I have not seen either and appreciated your thoughts on both.

     
  2. James Russell

    September 8, 2008 at 1:16 am

    The religious elements are indeed ham-fisted, but the most porcine thing about the film was Mr Day-Lewis. “I drink your milkshake!” indeed.

    Pulse is from a Japanese original of the same name by Kiyoshi Kurosawa (apparently no relation to Akira). Haven’t seen either but, personally, would likely be more interested in the original Japanese version than the Hollywood knock-off.

     
  3. Neil

    September 8, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Good to see you back, James. I blame the script rather than Daniel Day-Lewis for that one, and a few similar. I still think, given that, he was good in the role.

     
  4. Yarravillepaul

    September 8, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    I must admit I was a little underwhelmed by ‘There will be blood’, but I think it was the interpretation of the story rather than the acting

     
 
