RSS

Local government elections today in NSW, and the State Government’s disarray

13 Sep

On the second, I commend Jim Belshaw to you. The farce that the NSW Labor government has become is most dispiriting, and will no doubt impact on Labor’s chances in the current round of local government elections. Unless particular candidates from Labor have good track records on local issues, and no doubt that will be the case in some Municipalities and Shires, I think it is safe to say Labor candidates will be so on the nose with the electorate after the past few months that their chances are slim. This is sad, as one of my confreres at South Sydney Uniting Church is a Labor candidate for Sydney. Clover Moore’s sitting Independent team will win.

The woes of NSW Labor do not yet seem to have dented Kevin Rudd, but I am sure he is watching all this with some concern.

And the outcome for Sydney?

Clover Moore is back with a big swing towards her personally, +12.7% for the Mayoral election and +15.2% for her group. Labor has a swing of -8.0% overall. The Left vote, it would appear, has gone to The Greens with swings of +4.2% (Mayoral election) and +5.4% (Council election). So it will be a Clover and Greens future for Sydney in the main, though some Labor will get in and, behind them, a Liberal maybe… (It’s a quota system.) That is all with just over 50% counted. Check the final result later.

 

7 responses to “Local government elections today in NSW, and the State Government’s disarray

  1. Jim Belshaw

    September 13, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Thank you, Neil, for the reference. One of the reasons why I am so looking forward to China is simply as a break from things like the NSW mess. It makes me far too introspective. I will try to follow FL et cetera while I am away.

    In applying for a Chinese visa I suffered but resisted the temptation to put my occupation down as blogger just to see what would happen! Silly thought really, since blogging is presently a hobby and pre-occupation, not an occupation.

     
  2. Neil

    September 13, 2008 at 9:34 am

    A shame you can’t take M with you as a tour guide and interpreter.

     
  3. Jim Belshaw

    September 13, 2008 at 10:50 am

    I had not thought of M. If I had, I would have asked advice as to what to see.

     
  4. James

    September 14, 2008 at 3:06 am

    Sounds like I’ve been missing some exciting shenanigans while I’ve been away. I don’t remember Labor being in this much of a mess when Bob was around.

     
  5. Neil

    September 14, 2008 at 9:26 am

    You sure have missed some drama, James. I suspect Bob Carr knew just when to leave…

    I’d like to point everyone to Thomas’s version of the Local Government elections; he covers more than I do: Council Elections 2008.

     
  6. Thomas

    September 14, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Thanks for the reference Neil.

     
 
