RSS

Ian Thorpe — artist

25 Sep

Naturally I have blogged about Ian Thorpe before; why not, indeed? He seems a very interesting young man. I believe he has been studying at Macquarie University lately, and it appears he has also taken up art.

thorpepaint

My Pain, My Gain by Ian Thorpe

According to the story linked to the picture above:

“When I was a kid I used to imagine within my body there were all these mini people and the people in my goggles were the control room,” Thorpe said. “They were kind of like lemmings and they used to power everything in my body. I was always whipping them to make them work harder. That was my form of visualisation.”

The painting will be sold with the proceeds going to “the Right to Play China charity, which works to enhance the health and education of young people through sport.”

I wonder what The Rabbit makes of all this? He did, after all, sit next to Ian Thorpe in class at one time…

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2008 in Australia, Australia and Australian, creativity, sport

 

8 responses to “Ian Thorpe — artist

  1. marcellous

    September 25, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I see the story you link to also says:

    “While reportedly followed around by a gaggle of girls, Thorpe is believed to be still in a long-distance relationship with a mystery woman.”

    Believed by whom, I wonder?

     
  2. Bruce

    September 27, 2008 at 2:13 am

    I like Ian Thorpe. I’m jaded about Olympic athletes, and to be blunt in and of themselves, I see “sporting achievement” as a borderline oxymoron. It’s what an athlete chooses to do with whatever profile they generate that I can recognise. And while a bit on the twee side of things, Thorpie seems pretty sincere in his attempts to translate his celebrity into a boon for the world around him.

    It’s not like he’s using his sporting achievements to sell dodgy supplements, or further a cult of personality.

    He’s got a lot of years ahead of him and I hope he can continue to build on what he’s already started.

     
  3. Neil

    September 27, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Yes, the only person I can claim to have sat next to in class is Philip Ruddock! Guess The Rabbit is lucky in comparison.

     
  4. Bruce

    September 27, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Yes, the only person I can claim to have sat next to in class is Philip Ruddock!

    Now there’s a student that needs detention!

     
  5. donald

    October 7, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    who is ‘The Rabbit’?I’m confused now…

     
  6. Neil

    October 7, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Someone we know who was at school with Ian Thorpe.

     
  7. donald

    October 18, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Does this guy study with Ian today or long time back in middle school?

     
  8. Neil

    October 18, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Around ten years ago.

     
 
