RSS

Meet a blog: Northern Myth

29 Sep

Bob Gosford left a comment yesterday. Now I have visited his new blog and recommend it to you. I have added it to my Google Reader.

northernmyth

Consider what he said recently about Mal Brough, who does seem to have personality issues…

I gave up on hate as a waste of time many years ago and it is a very rare moment now that I can be bothered to even strongly dislike someone. Contempt and pity rise a little more easily but are still occasional pleasures. And I don’t like seeing small furry animals in pain and I think that there are some people who should just be removed from public life, with extreme prejudice, for all our sakes. And despite having little faith in anyone from a  conservative party based in Queensland being able to do anything right anytime…you get lucky sometimes.

So it was with some pleasure that I read today’s reports in The Australian, Brisbane Times and Crikey that “Mad Mal” Brough (as he is known in these parts, largely for his weird dancing and impromptu verbal outbursts) has finally pulled the pin on his leadership of the Queensland liberals. One of those “You can’t sack me – I quit!!” moments.

I will leave fuller consideration and comment to you, my dear readers, and perhaps make some further contributions on another day when and if I can be bothered, but for now I’m just glad to see the back of Mad Mal, the man who will for ever rightfully be held responsible for that shameful blot on Australia’s history, the Howard Government’s Intervention into 73 Aboriginal townships and villages across the Northern Territory.

There are of course some worthy aspects of the Intervention, but the bloody-mindedness, incompetence and sheer wastefulness of its implementation, the shameful and pointless representation of all Aboriginal men in the NT (and by association, beyond) as vicious and drunken sexual predators and of all Aboriginal women and children as their unwitting prey was beneath contempt and served only to drive Aboriginal people further into the recesses of our imagination…

I can go along with that.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2008 in Australia, Australia and Australian, blogging, other blogs

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Meet a blog: Northern Myth

  1. Jim Belshaw

    September 29, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Personally, Neil, I think that Brough will go down in history as the man who forced necessary change.

     
  2. Neil

    September 29, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Perhaps so, Jim, though a bit like a dose of salts.

     
  3. Jim Belshaw

    September 29, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Yes, and that is really the point. A dose of salts is sometimes necessary!

     
 
