RSS

All the news that’s fit to blog…

09 Oct

Well, not really! So dire is the situation at the moment that I have withdrawn to a position of posting only where I can speak with some small degree of authority, sure that my two cents worth, in these devalued times, isn’t worth what it was. However, there are still better placed bloggers out there saying excellent things, very often from positions of considerably more knowledge and/or experience than I can muster. Hence my Google Reader, which I update twice a day. There is a good crop this morning, some serious and insightful, and some light but also, in their own ways, insightful. Not a bad batch I have there.

I do have one thing to say to Aussie politicians though, and especially to the Opposition. Now is not the time to be playing politics and focusing on winning the next election. Now is the time for a cooperative endeavour to see Australia through the storm. Yes, I appeal to patriotism, ladies and gentlemen — not in any overweening conviction that we are a force for all that is good in the world, but simply in order to encourage our survival in a very troubling time. Think about it. The ambitions of individual politicians seem quite threadbare in comparison.

Also kaput, threadbare and risible, were it not for the damage they have contributed to, is the once much vaunted Project for the New American Century, Kristol and company…

On July 8, 2008, The Project for the New American Century website said: “This Account Has Been Suspended Please contact the billing/support department as soon as possible.” However, as of August 22, 2008, The Project for the New American Century website appears to be back up and running.

Local

Meanwhile here in the Parish of Alexandria in the County of Cumberland in the State of New South Wales a new South Sydney Herald has appeared. Dorothy dropped off my bundles on Tuesday.

ssh

I have started distribution, as you may see from the top bundle. Later today I will fill my shopping trolley and do the rounds in Goodlet, Lansdowne, and other streets in my block down to Crown Street. I’ll be taking the Casio, of course. The cargo is heavier this issue, as there is an insert, a compilation from The Newtown Chronicle for 1899.

October South Sydney Herald

Newtown Chronicle 1899 (PDFs)

 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

 
