RSS

I wish William McInnes hadn’t said this…

15 Oct

… because I can’t get it out of my head.

Last Saturday in a piece about the Rugby League Grand Final Australian actor William McInnes wrote:

…Midweek saw the telecast of the second US presidential debate between the senators McCain and Obama. John McCain tried hard to be folksy but looked a little like Uncle Fester from the Addams Family only being allowed out of the cellar as long as he didn’t get too cranky. “Now friends,” he would say a little too much and all the while Obama was all loose-limbed elegance and seemed to be on the verge of smoothly segueing into some Brook Benton song. The phrase he is most fond of is “you know”. As one would say it to friends.

It was a town hall debate and the audience was made up of a cross-section of American society. Hello! I wasn’t quite sure why the debate was being telecast live but somebody at the ABC deemed it to be important enough to be so I watched a little.

I wondered if McCain or Obama would barrack for Manly.

It was that sort of a perplexing week. When McCain pointed to Obama and referred to him as being “That One!” I thought to myself, this is the “Blame the Winger” moment of the 2008 race…

fester-pope mccain1

I will let you decide which is which.

I mentioned it on Sunday to M and Sirdan, but M didn’t know who Uncle Fester is, and Sirdan didn’t quite remember…

 
Comments Off on I wish William McInnes hadn’t said this…

Posted by on October 15, 2008 in America, current affairs, diversions, M, Sirdan, USA

 

Comments are closed.

 
