RSS

I have been gender analysed…

24 Nov

Thanks to Legal Eagle, who recently gave birth, for this one. She was a touch amazed:

[her] site has an 82% likelihood of being written by a man. Whereas Tim Blair’s site has a 72% chance of being written by a female. Hmm. I’m thinking the text classifier needs a little work.

So naturally I checked, and this blog “is written by a man (68%).” Ninglun’s Specials “is written by a woman (54%), however it’s quite gender neutral.” Well, what about that? My feminine side obviously comes out there! I am at my most butch or macho on English/ESL it appears, with an 87% masculinity score there.

After that I was curious about a few of my regulars. Marcellous: 72% male; Thomas: 71% male; Jim Belshaw: also 71% male; Denys: 65% male. Bruce is 83% male, while AV is 82%. Kanani Fong’s blog “is written by a woman (54%), however it’s quite gender neutral.” I really am starting to wonder about Tim Blair!

It is a bit surprising though that Lisa (Aluminium) is 89% male. Perhaps because she swears from time to time?

See Gender Analyser. Have fun. 🙂

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2008 in blogging, diversions

 

12 responses to “I have been gender analysed…

  1. Benjamin Solah

    November 24, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    My blog got 69% male. I wonder how they analyze it. The fact that many of your results gave alternate genders to who actually wrote them kind of proves something about gender stereotypes – they are often just stereotypes.

     
  2. Neil

    November 24, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    It’s an interesting idea, but I do think they need to work on it!

     
  3. Thomas

    November 24, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    I remember looking into picking genders by the way people typed a while ago. From what I saw, it was through the use of certain words. If my memory serves me correctly, an example would be a more common use of ‘I’ by a female. I can’t remember much off the top of my head (there was a list of some 50 words for each gender), and I don’t know if this site analyses in the same way.

     
  4. James

    November 25, 2008 at 5:43 am

    “We guess http://jamesobrien.id.au is written by a man (57%), however it’s quite gender neutral.”

    I feel so incredibly PC!

     
  5. Legal Eagle

    November 25, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    It’s a strange one. I wonder if it presumes we’re men because we write about legal topics and other serious things? Funnily enough, if you take our posts separately, we’re still male, but less male than if you combine us…

     
  6. Neil

    November 25, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Just in case readers are confused: Legal Eagle is female, and shares a blog (Skeptic Lawyer) with another person who is, I believe, really female… Hence the “we” in her comment, which does not refer to “Neil and I” — if you see what I mean. I rarely write about legal topics, and how serious I am is for you to judge. 😉

     
  7. Neil

    November 25, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Since there has been some critical discussion of this lately, some of you will be interested to know that the Gadget says that Mary Shelley’s “Frankenstein” (Chapter 1) was 75% written by a man…

    I noticed after first writing this comment an explanation by Thomas of how the Gadget works. Interesting. Mostly I can’t see why it should be so. Did they derive it by crunching the lexis in a corpus of blogs to see any gender discrepancies in frequency of items? What is the rationale? One thing I noticed is that higher modality — that is less “certainty” — seems to be “feminine”. I would have thought it was simply a sign of intelligence… But then “Sophia” is “wisdom”, is she not?

     
  8. Thomas

    November 25, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Neil, I suspect some of the answers you are looking for are located in this pdf: http://www.cs.biu.ac.il/~koppel/papers/male-female-text-final.pdf

    It’s what the people at Gender Genie based their algorithms on.

     
  9. Legal Eagle

    November 27, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Oops, should have been more specific in my comment! 🙂

     
  10. Legal Eagle

    November 27, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Baby brain has set in…

     
  11. Neil

    November 27, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    I just enjoy a chance to be an annoying English teacher. 😉

     
  12. AV

    December 1, 2008 at 1:11 am

    “We guess http://fivepublicopinions.wordpress.com/ is written by a man (59%), however it’s quite gender neutral.”

     
 
