RSS

He sneers, he smears, he ponces, he attitudinises…

14 Dec

piers akerman …and he gives conservatism its ugly face and a bad name. I refer of course to Piers Akerman. In his piece today he manages to make me, for one, sympathise with Malcolm Turnbull. Perhaps because I am one of the beneficiaries of Kevin Rudd’s “sugar hit” I rather resent the following, which must be some kind of record for smears and insinuations per line:

Don’t look for a change at the top of the Coalition now though. The Newspoll was taken last weekend when pensioners, carers and other welfare recipients were looking forward to receiving their “sugar hits” in the form of unearned dollars from the Rudd government in the name of economic stimulation.

A fistful of money can be extremely stimulating, as bootleggers supplying illegal grog to Aboriginals at up to $170 a slab in Western Australia have found, whether such spending leads to the protection of jobs in the long-term is yet to be seen.

That is simply vile.

Of course Piers knows so much about economics, doesn’t he? And yes, no-one knows for sure what the effect will be. What I do know is that for me the payment is a Godsend… Of course my dollars are “unearned” – unlike the payouts and “sugar hits” CEOs in finance and elsewhere have been conditioning us to accept in recent years; after all they really “earned” their sweeteners, didn’t they? They really produced something tangible which we can all recognise in exchange for their rewards…

Honest conservatism I don’t object to at all.

Akerman’s smarmy superciliousness simply makes my blood boil. I am just relieved that he is not actually responsible for anything real, just for being a performing seal week after week. I suppose he does that well, if you like animal acts…

Ignore the bastard. I am so glad I am not Piers Akerman.

 

2 responses to “He sneers, he smears, he ponces, he attitudinises…

  1. Alex Schlotzer

    December 14, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Spot on! But then there are an awful lot of finance commentators that have no idea about the fundamental basics of economics. So instead of having something intelligent to say they parrot neo-con rubbish about the state of economy in Australia and globally.

    However, what is concerning is how much of the “sugar hit” is being spent on things like poker machines instead of bills. This would make for much better research and economic analysis than the vile written by the likes of Akerman

     
  2. Neil

    December 15, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Thanks for the comment. You have a very interesting, well-organised blog there, Alex. I will be back!

     
 
