RSS

New Year blogging resolutions

07 Jan

1. It will not be the principal purpose of this blog to write theses. Been there, done that. I made an exception in trying to clarify my position on the Gaza issue recently, but even that is hardly a “thesis”.
2. I have never seen my blog as “saving the world”. I do however try to reflect values, which should be apparent, but usually I will do that by referring you to sites where I feel some connection with the values embodied therein.
3. I am cutting my active blogs to two. I will be adding pages to a third, English/ESL, starting with an essay on “Belonging” and Peter S’s poetry. The aim there is pedagogical. (Later I modified this one…)
4. I am not competing with anyone. I write for my own pleasure. If you enjoy it, good; if you don’t , there are plenty of other blogs.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2009 in blogging, personal

 

4 responses to “New Year blogging resolutions

  1. tikno

    January 8, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I likes at point no.4. As many people says “Be yourself”.

     
  2. Neil

    January 8, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Thanks, Tikno. I am glad you understand. 🙂

     
  3. AV

    January 9, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    I must admit curiosity at what this is all about, Neil.

     
  4. Neil

    January 9, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Simple really, AV. It’s about being over 65 and having blogged for just on eight years all up. I also get thoroughly sick of (sometimes) writing the same post over and over again. I want to change direction. Part of that is my greater emphasis on the photo blog. Also, though there are many honourable exceptions who try and to a point succeed, I really do think the blog format is a poor one for careful or sustained argument.

     
 
