RSS

Is my blog changing direction?

13 Jan

I want it to, as I intimated a little while ago. If you go to the page 2009 month by month you will find a neat list, which I offer here without links in order to make a point.

On Floating Life

1 January: Floating Life and English/ESL in 2008. 2 January: Mendelssohn Bicentenary; Last 2008 in review post: my also-rans… Goodbye, Journalspace!; A whiff of sanity on Israel and Palestine. 3 January: WP stats and my latest; Yes, it’s on again; I hereby ban the word “fascist” from this blog…. 4 January: Hmmm… Been blogging for way too long…; Rationalising resources; Just a quiet Sunday afternoon in Surry Hills… 1; Just a quiet Sunday afternoon in Surry Hills… 2.

5 January: Joshua to Gaza 2009; My blog wordled, and Quote of the Week #1. 6 January: Radio National Poetry special: Five Bells by Kenneth Slessor; It’s hot, but so’s the cricket. 7 January: New Year blogging resolutions; 2009 book notes: 1; Yesterday’s crisis; What an amazing Test Match! 8 January: Breaking the silence on my English/ESL blog!; Two from regulars to this blog; Fascinating blogging and cultural phenomenon; A rabbi on Gaza; I’ve been writing an HSC English essay! 9 January: You can tell Thomas is on holidays…; Friday intellectual spot 1; Behind the news: Rosemeadow NSW. 10 January: DO ANY OF THESE SYMPTOMS FIT YOU?; Five more from regulars to this blog; Reconciling cybercondoms with a low end computer; What’s new: Sunday 11 January to Saturday 17 January. 11 January: Sunday is music day 1; Sunday Floating Life photo 1.

12 January: Only the demons are dancing…; Quote of the week: Week 2 2009; Coming up on the photoblog. 13 January: Transamerica — SBS last Saturday night ****; More top viewing, and the pity of war.

More to come.

The first post tomorrow is sitting on schedule. It’s a “100 best novels” post.

Looking over that list you will see a number of entries about Gaza; I did these because I wanted to clarify some issues for myself. I also wanted to make a stand for some things, and against others — particularly against the kind of demonisation I was seeing in so many other places, and against virulent antisemitism and anti-Americanism, though God knows I am no fan of the policies of either Israel or the USA in recent times, and I am certainly not impressed with the Hamas Charter either — a particularly virulent, even insane, document. I can’t imagine anyone on the left honestly endorsing it. And there is an element of truth in the proposition that Hamas have brought on themselves, and worse on the people of Gaza, the consequences of being in a state of war, essentially. War does cost. Before you scream at me, I suggest you look at what I have tried to say: that there is a back story here that includes many lost opportunities, much corruption, many wrong choices, morphing into a victory for the least righteous on both sides, in my opinion. One can only hope that something can be saved when all is done, but I am not holding my breath. I am also well aware that my posts are very tentative, but I do hope they have resonated with some out there. The little feedback I’ve had suggests they may have.*

OK, that out of the way you will see I have actually ranted very little. If you take the whole picture and include the photoblog I have even retreated from words themselves. And that is what I wanted to do.

So here is a poll, pointless except as a kind of feedback:

You can choose more than one answer.

Update

*Jon Taplin this morning has asked a very fair question; there’s nothing antisemitic or crazy conspiratorial about it either: Who Runs U.S. Mid-East Policy?.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2009 in blogging, Israel, Middle East, personal, site news

 

7 responses to “Is my blog changing direction?

  1. Neil

    January 14, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Thanks, Thomas, for your “other”. I do agree, but was interested in what people thought.

     
  2. Benjamin Solah

    January 14, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I haven’t noticed a major change, though I tend to selectively read your blog and mostly focus on the politics, and some of your slice of life stuff.

    I selected the option that I’d read whatever you wrote. But it sounds as if you’re moving away from political posts, am I right? That would be a shame.

    And as a rule, I tend to skip over really long posts unless the title really grabs me.

     
  3. Neil

    January 14, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Thanks, Benjamin. Yes, I will only go political now if an issue really engages me. The politics has steadily declined since 2007 here, as you may have noticed. The blog is veering towards the personal and the visual. And sometimes literary etc… There should still be variety.

     
  4. Benjamin Solah

    January 15, 2009 at 11:59 am

    I think the literary shall suffice me then. Although, it would be handy to see the full post in your RSS feed because right now I only see a snippet.

     
  5. Neil

    January 15, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Sorry about that, but I have deliberately chosen snippets to frustrate blog scrapers.

    Still lots of politics in my blog picks of course.

     
  6. Thomas

    January 15, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    No problem Neil.

     
  7. Neil

    January 16, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    In utter contrast to Jon Taplin’s post, mentioned in my update, read this too typical heap of effluent. I found that quoted approvingly on another blog today. Hopeless!

     
 
