RSS

My blog picks on the Obama Inauguration

21 Jan

I slept through it – after all it was 3am here in Sydney. So I am turning over this entry to posts that otherwise would appear in my Google Reader picks.

Thomas

Thomas is in Sydney but doesn’t need to sleep. 😉

The Inauguration of Barack Obama: “Channel 9, in Australia, has already started their coverage – feeding off ABC in the US. Other channels will kick in as the actual event draws nearer. I have started watching 9/ABC and will be attempting to live-blog the event. When I get started, I’ll update this post. Not that I suspect many people will be awake to read it of my regular readers. I guess this post will hopefully serve as my own personal piece of history…”

Jon Taplin

Memorable Inaugural Lines: “Reverend Joseph Lowery – Inaugural Benediction:We ask you to help us work for that day when black will not be asked to get in back, when brown can stick around. When yellow will be mellow, when the red man can get ahead, man; and when white will embrace what is right. That all those who do justice and love mercy say Amen.”

Rev Jeremy Smith

Hope: “This is not a partisan moment. This is a historic moment. My church staff will be watching this tomorrow. Why? Because when my kids ask me ‘where were you when our first black President was sworn in?’ I don’t have to say ‘I was writing the bulletin’.”

Kanani Fong

The Significance of Obama’s Win: “One may or may not like his ideas. But the comments that interest me both are from those (on both sides) who refuse to admit the significance of Barack Obama’s race and his win for president….”

Len in Texas

Tuesday, January 20, 2009: “The day for which we all have been patiently awaiting for so long has finally arrived. Today, Barack H. Obama becomes the 44th President of the United States of America. We are approaching another one of those “Do you remember where you were when…?” moments. The ceremonies have begun. We are now listening to the prelude by the United States Marine Band. I hope you are able to watch and enjoy them from wherever you are…”

… and an update from me…

Those were the first responses I picked up this morning. Now I have seen the edited highlights on our own Aussie ABC, and (old softie that I am) I was in tears by the end. Yes, I know: he won’t walk on water, and there is a long way to go.

But my God, my tears, I suspect, were relief that the previous regime with all its bitterness and bad choices is finally over. The world really is just that little bit better off today.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2009 in America, current affairs, events, other blogs, USA

 

3 responses to “My blog picks on the Obama Inauguration

  1. Benjamin Solah

    January 21, 2009 at 10:29 am

    I haven’t decided on whether to post on the inauguration or not, but it won’t be as positive as everyone else’s.

     
  2. Neil

    January 21, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Those are just the ones that hit my Google Reader this morning.

     
  3. Neil

    January 21, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Add this in to the above responses: Look Who’s Praying at the Inauguration.

    The first openly gay Episcopal bishop.

    The first female president of the Disciples of Christ.

    The president of the Islamic Society of North America (who also happens to be a woman).

    Three rabbis.

    Bono.

    And one Hawaiian shirt-wearing mega-church pastor…

    If the religious voices involved in celebrating his inauguration are a harbinger of his political style, they say to me that the Obama administration will be one marked by collaboration and cooperation, not coercion or mandate (divine or otherwise)…

     
 
