RSS

RadarSync and other geeky things

31 Jan

I downloaded RadarSync the other day. My ISP (Unwired) had recommended it. What it does is scan your program for outdated stuff, including drivers. It then enables you to download and instal whatever it finds. It is good, but also perhaps over-enthusiastic. Even so, it certainly made updating a few very old drivers much easier. Apparently they used to charge for that part of the service, but now it’s free.

McAfee Site Advisor gives an orange warning, by the way, because “some downloads … tried to change our system settings.” Well they would, wouldn’t they? I mean, what do you expect a new driver to do? Even so, use RadarSync selectively. But it is very useful.

Speaking of McAfee Site Advisor: IE 8 will not support it at the moment. Otherwise I rather like IE 8, in most ways better than IE 7. IE 8 is also incompatible with Google Gears and Yahoo tool bar at the moment.

WordWeb fans – and everyone should have WordWeb: there is a new version available.

One gripe – not about WordWeb. Have you noticed how many “free” apps want you to instal yet another useless tool bar? RadarSync does it; so does Foxit Reader. Sometimes they instal said bar even when you’ve said NO!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2009 in computers, web stuff, www

 

4 responses to “RadarSync and other geeky things

  1. sean

    January 31, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Never heard of Unwired ISP. Where do you live?

    I tried RadarSync too and was very impressed. What did you think about the My Packs backup feature. I kinda liked it, but it looks like it’s still in development.

     
  2. Adam Pick

    January 31, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    wow, RadarSync *is* cool. Quite many updates, I had no idea my PC needs that much. Gooooooood!!!!

     
  3. Neil

    February 1, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    I am finding RadarSync must be used with caution, as it is giving false indications at times. For example, it claims my versions of Maxthon2 and Spybot Search and Destroy are out of date, but they definitely are not.

     
  4. john dinz

    February 5, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Neil-Interesting. I do have spybot too and yet I did get a new version update, which was not false. I’m actually quite excited by RadarSync 2009, using RadarSync since 2006 (you can see my excitement in many blogs..). Maybe you shld contact their tech support?

     
 
