RSS

Almost decent wireless broadband speed!

25 Feb

This month Unwired is delivering at a notional 1024/256 – a quick check showed around 750 in fact – and that is a big improvement. Combined with the much improved Skype 4 this means my internet telephony is rather better than the two tin cans and string it used to be, though even at that stage it was great for SMS. I am all thumbs on a mobile phone when it comes to SMS; a full keyboard is much better.

The trade-off is that to get 1024 for the same price as half the speed I have dropped from 10 gig to 6 gig a month allowance – and that is cunningly split 50/50 into peak and off peak. Naturally I do most of my blogging in the off peak.

To monitor my downloads I have just installed an oldie, but new to me: NetMeter. It’s very good, and free. Right now it is telling me I’ve used around 44 meg so far today…

Later

Still in off peak (10 am) and it has been a busy morning. There were big updates from Microsoft (for XP) and a new version of my Firewall for starters, and then I went through my VodPods fixing or deleting broken videos, as I do once a month. Plus a big PDF upload to one of my coachees. And blogging. Result – 109 meg so far today! Must watch it, as according to the NetMeter that if continued would give about 7 gig a month!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2009 in computers, web stuff

 

3 responses to “Almost decent wireless broadband speed!

  1. Benjamin Solah

    February 25, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Nice to see Unwired is slowly picking up its pace. Though I always had disastrous reception in Campbelltown and even worse in Marrickville.

     
  2. Neil

    February 25, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Even here it varies. It’s OK in the living room, bad in the bedroom! At M’s, not far away, it only just works, and similarly at SBHS in Moore Park.

     
  3. Benjamin Solah

    February 25, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Yeah, it was touchy like that in Marrickville too. My housemates couldn’t handle it so we had to change to AAPT.

    I don’t think I’d ever recommend them to anyone.

     
 
