RSS

Tori Amos on blogging

26 Feb

Hat tip to Christian Taylor, national editor of SameSame.

Not too long ago during an interview with Tori Amos I asked her about her love of blogging, and if she thought that the internet was bringing us closer together or further apart. Her response, as expected, was an eloquent one.

"I think it’s both. It depends on how it’s used. It depends on the individual. I think the ability to access information right now is vital if we’re going to educate ourselves, not be educated by those who want us to be educated in a certain way. I think part of our learning has to be driven by our own desire to learn.

"Sometimes when I’m on the internet I find myself learning things that I didn’t even know I needed to learn, because I start cross-referencing a word or an idea and it takes me to sites that I would not have known about. The word association and how it works on the internet is alchemy. You can choose to get drawn into a black hole or you can choose to move out of it.

"Has the internet driven us apart? Has it made us more detached from each other? Well it depends. That’s an individual question everyone has to look at."

Indeed.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 26, 2009 in blogging

 

One response to “Tori Amos on blogging

  1. Lisa

    February 26, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    I adore Tori Amos. *sigh*

     
 
