RSS

Daily Archives: March 27, 2009

Revisited The Mine, after a senior moment…

Yesterday I went to The Mine, partly to borrow a copy of Equus. Unfortunately (the senior moment) I ran off with the English Department’s book room key, which I have now returned.

Out in Moore Park was one of those multicultural sights that warms the heart – mine anyway. There was the brass band (non-cadet) marching up and down complete with a baton-twirling drum major – boys from around 12 to 17, all taking the rehearsal for Anzac Day very seriously, and each face representative of the many ethnic and cultural groups that comprise The Mine these days, fifty years on from when I was in their shoes – not that I was in a brass band.

And the band played “Waltzing Matilda”…

Inside I did note the portrait of a certain former Justice seems to have retired from the pantheon display…

 
Comments Off on Revisited The Mine, after a senior moment…

Posted by on March 27, 2009 in Australia, Australia and Australian, multicultural Australia, personal, Salt Mine