RSS

Straying on to Marcellous’s territory

02 Apr

Last night I happened to listen to this concert on Classic FM:

Geoffrey Saba: Beethoven Sonatas
Geoffrey Saba, piano
Jennifer Hagan, reader
Beethoven Piano Sonata No 30 in E, Op 109 20’24
Readings from Beethoven’s letters (part 1) 11’59
Beethoven
Piano Sonata No 31 in A flat, Op 110 20’32
Readings from Beethoven’s letters (part 2) 13’14
Beethoven
Piano Sonata No 32 in C minor, Op 111 27’33
Gluck arr Kempff
Ballet Music from Orfeo 5’18

Fortunately I decided to listen through pretty good headphones instead of on my rather antique radio. The readings from Beethoven’s letters were sometimes amusing, I have to say, and the program quite wonderful. The real point is that it is the first time I have consciously noted a Stuart piano, which Marcellous writes about here. It sounded good to me.

And a footnote about the pianist:

saba

1968 photo: Linked to source

Those book reviews I promised will appear tomorrow…

 
Comments Off on Straying on to Marcellous’s territory

Posted by on April 2, 2009 in Marcel, music, radio

 

Comments are closed.

 
