RSS

Enjoying “The Story of India”

13 Apr

120px-MahasenaHuvishka Our ABC here in Oz has been screening The Story of India at 7.30pm on Sundays. Last night was Episode 3. I have to say I knew nothing about one of the more interesting parts of the episode dealing with the Kushan Empire (coin on the right). Admittedly when I studied Indian history at university it was just one term out of three in an Asian History course, the other terms dealing with China and Japan. We were meant to do South-East Asia but ran out of time, though I read the textbook. The Indian course was by one Marjorie Jacobs who, as I recall, was very fond of Nehru. We are talking 1962 here! The first few thousand years flashed by in about a week, as our course proper really began with Akbar in the 16th century. By the way, I came first! My Indian history essay was about Ram Mohan Roy.

So I am learning much I didn’t know before thanks to this very enthusiastic and colourful presentation. I have put some relevant videos into the Vodpod in the side bar.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 13, 2009 in best viewing 2009, History, South Asian, TV

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
