RSS

What’s new

23 May

new_017 Sunday 2 August 2009

This is a sticky post. The photo and content will change week by week, so keep your eye on it.

 shills220709 001 A few people have commented on this.

Surry Hills July 22: 2 — detail from the Northcott mosaics 

Coming up/Notes to readers

I have begun to participate in this: nablo09.90x33 . There’s an ongoing series on the Sydney Photo Blog: Glebe. On Neil’s Sydney on Blogspot is a series chronicling 22 July here in Surry Hills. It was an amazingly bright clear day photographically and I found some items that pleased or tickled me. There is also a Twitter specially for the photo blogs.

There have been some glitches with the new ratings system. I have switched to the simpler thumbs up or thumbs down, but most of the posts, pages or comments so far rated seem to have lost their ratings. Anyway, consider using it.

daily 

Other blogs

* Re English/ESL

Vote for me!

Language Teaching.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on May 23, 2009 in site news

 

20 responses to “What’s new

  1. Peter

    May 23, 2009 at 9:33 am

    I will follow. And I like the new look of your blog. Very nice.

     
  2. Neil

    May 23, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Thanks, Peter.

     
  3. Renegade Eye

    May 25, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    You always have a nice looking blog. I always liked it from the time I discovered it.

     
  4. Neil

    May 25, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    That’s really nice, Renegade. Thanks.

     
  5. carrie

    May 28, 2009 at 10:12 am

    in a sea of what i find to be uninteresting blogs (for the most part) yours held my attention for longer than thirty seconds. 😉

     
  6. Neil

    May 28, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Many thanks, Carrie. I saw your other comment too.

     
  7. Bruce

    June 5, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    There was some good winter light that I saw yesterday morning while on the train passing the DSTO at about 7:15am. Satellite dishes, large eucalypts with a paddock of half-grown scrabble up front, all covered with an icy fog.

    Wish I had my camera and the time to get off at the nearby station. 😦

     
  8. Bruce

    June 5, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Actually, probably not a good photo op in this day and age, a military base. 😛

     
  9. a ladys life

    June 24, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    Sylvia looks like a good movie.:)

     
  10. Russell Darnley

    July 4, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Neil, I just thought I’d say hello. It’s been a while. I’m impressed by the look and functionality of your blog. I’ve only just drifted into blogging. Not sure why it’s taken me so long.

    Maximos Russell

     
  11. Neil

    July 4, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Great to hear from you, Russell. I’ll favourite you on Google Reader straight away! 🙂

     
  12. Kevin

    July 13, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Nin, I don’t understand the way you have this blog set up. It doesn’t seem to have anything current. I know that you have dozens of blogs, but my home computer needed a complete reformatting so I lost the links to them. Would you be kind enough to link here the one that you are currently updating?

    Thanks in advance, Aussie!

     
  13. Neil

    July 13, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Hi Kevin. This is the main blog and is updated daily. Ignore the date beside this”sticky” and take note of the “Latest Version” date. The updates on the other blogs are noted here.

    After all, as Russell Darnley said, “I’m impressed by the look and functionality of your blog.”

    The latest entry is always just below this, and just above is a link to my featured archive post.

     
  14. Kevin

    July 13, 2009 at 9:53 am

    I’m happy that some guy named Russel Darnley likes your blog! I just hope that you aren’t hanging too much of your blog future on one person’s praise. Despite what he says, it’s very difficult to navigate, as your site stands. Maybe it’s just me though.

    No worries in any case. I’ll keep poking through your sites regardless. Ever since a Tim Blair article (possibly the greatest Australian to ever live, sans John Howard) led me to you, I’ve found your leftist beliefs to be utterly fascinating. Fascinating because, unlike American liberals, you aren’t angry or filled with hate. You’re just liberal (aka leftist/progressive/labo[u]r, etc). My ideals are so different from yours that it makes you fascinating to me. I’ve never met/corresponded with a person from the left who doesn’t have vitriolic hatred for the West and all of the good things the West has given us.

    I can’t say that I understand you yet, Nin, but I’m going to. To repeat myself yet again, you are fascinating.

     
  15. Neil

    July 13, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Kevin, I really am not extreme left by Australian standards, and am definitely not a Marxist. For example, in this country we don’t debate such things as state responsibility for basic health care cover or for subsidised pharmaceuticals; we do debate what mix is most efficient and there is room for such debate.

    In some ways John Howard was an aberration from our normal path.

    Russell I happen to know, and he is a bit of a whiz on internet matters. There’s a lot on this blog and hence the navigation may look complex, but otherwise it’s perfectly normal. The latest update is near the top always.

     
  16. Kevin

    July 15, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    You lost me with your marxism and communistic healthcare statements. Where did that come from? I only mentioned that I find you fascinating because you lean left (quite hard, despite your belief to the contrary) and yet you are not spitting bile all of the time, and to the best of my knowledge don’t even curse!

    That’s a breath of fresh air for us up over. You could teach our leftists a thing or two.

     
  17. Neil

    July 15, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Thanks, Kevin… I think. 😉

    I mentioned the health care issue because it is an example of how most Australians see the role of government differently from many Americans. We have long dreaded having our healthcare system “Americanised”.

     
  18. Kevin

    July 16, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    I can totally agree with you.. Who wants the word ‘Americanized’ to bastardized with extra s’es?

    Oh wait, that’s not what you meant at all, is it? 😉 j/k

    I hope your health-care system doesn’t go entirely the way of Canada’s, but more importantly, I hope ours doesn’t. I want to keep living, damnit!

     
  19. Davo

    July 26, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Um, you’ve just given me an idea. Will henceforth devote my entire lifetime, my god given right to destroy “THEY”.

     
  20. Neil

    July 27, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Davo is referring to this post which was at the time the archived entry at the top.

     

Leave a Reply

 
