RSS

Pause: cub reporter again

12 Jun

Aside from the standard weekend posts and the Photoblog and Ninglun on Blogspot, I am pausing while I play cub reporter again for the South Sydney Herald. The topic is “The Price of Books”. Oz readers: feel free to sound off on the topic in the comment thread. I know some of you have strong views on this. I, on the other hand, have only 500 words to play with.

 
 

Tags:

3 responses to “Pause: cub reporter again

  1. Benjamin Solah

    June 12, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    I’m an addictive book shopper.

    Whilst I’m all for cheaper everything, I don’t mind paying a little extra for trade paperbacks instead of mass market paperbacks because the type setting and size is better. I wish they didn’t just sell Trade Paperbacks for new releases.

     
  2. Thomas

    June 15, 2009 at 12:39 am

    When you can order from Amazon, pay the conversion and shipping *on top* of the price of the book itself, and still get books cheaper than it would cost to drive down to the local bookstore (eg. Borders) and buy it from there, I think that there’s a problem somewhere in the line.

    And there’s no guarantee that the store is even going to have your book, or the edition you want, or an edition you can pay for. I remember I was looking for a copy of Paradise Lost I could carry around. I went to 3 different borders, and only one had any copy at all – and it was an A3, hardcover, Complete Works of Milton thing. And when I asked if they could order it in, it would end up taking as long as it would to buy it from a US website, and still be more expensive.

    In terms of paying in generally, you can get some good things for good prices – the orange Penguin series for example.

     
  3. Neil

    June 15, 2009 at 8:53 am

    I raised the matter of Amazon with Paul Feian from Cornstalk Books and David Gaunt from Gleebooks, and also the matter of Borders. You’ll have to wait for my story to see where that went… 😉

     
 
