RSS

Quote of the week: Naj on Tehran

16 Jun

I have in the past mentioned the blog Neo-resistance, “…an Iranian woman. I am tired of hearing Iranian women are chained creatures who need sympathy or liberation. I am not a feminist; that is why my tales are those of resilience.”

I would have stood behind Ahmadinejad, if he had not become the face of fascism.

I would have been now cheering the glorious images of a massively attended election, over 42 million out of some 49 million eligible voters participating in the election.

I would have been posting images of happy men and women, rural and urban, rich and poor, lined up to vote.

I would have been standing tall in front of the world, and would have said "look, Iran is not the backward dictatorship that your media is projecting it to be."

I would have … ONLY if the "passionate outbursts after soccer game"-as stupidly uttered by that ugly man–were not faced with bullets and batons!

I would have … ONLY if the headquarters of the opposite parties to Ahmadinejad had NOT been raided, tear gassed, and closed

I would have … ONLY if the foreign journalists were not kicked out and the internal reporters were not intimidated

I would have … ONLY if I had not seen pictures of ununiformed, ugly, angry men holding knives to unarmed gigolos

I would have … ONLY if the result of 42 million votes were NOT released in less than 24 hours!!! If the election monitors were allowed to monitor the count!!! If there was at least a small gesture that "sure, we do re-count for the respect of our democratic process, instead of shedding blood!"

This is NOT religion versus democracy …

This is fascism versus humanity …

— 15 June 2009

Here is one of pictures she posted yesterday.

Violence_Rally

Click on the picture to see more.

 
 

2 responses to “Quote of the week: Naj on Tehran

  1. naj

    July 10, 2009 at 6:54 am

    Hello,

    Thank you for posting my blog!
    Just a clarification, I don’t blog from Tehran (I have older posts from Tehran though). I live outside Iran (and have been living abroad for over 17 years.)

     
  2. Neil

    July 10, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Thanks, Naj, for clarifying that. I had wondered about possible danger for you in some of your posts. I have altered the title accordingly.

     
 
