RSS

What a geek I am!

26 Jul

Well, hardly – but I did solve, with the help of Google Search, a nasty little XP problem that arose in the past couple of days: the mouse right-click caused the computer to hang! So I did what you’d expect – restored to a few days back, ran various diagnostics, defragged, optimised, ran disk check. All to no avail. The effect of the problem was such that when it occurred I had to go to CONTROL ALT DELETE and shut the process down, after which my desktop restarted itself, rearranging the items in the task bar as it did.

Google Search led me eventually to ShellExView v1.37 – Shell Extensions Manager by Nir Sofer. So I printed the instructions and nervously downloaded the tool and ran it. Once I’d entered the previously arcane part of the computer’s bowels I decided the most recently added context menu handler was probably the villain. I disabled it, rebooted, and lo the problem was solved! 🙂

Many thanks, Nir Sofer.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2009 in computers

 

3 responses to “What a geek I am!

  1. Peter (Worldman)

    July 26, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Sometimes small things trouble us. You had your right click. I had my sound. Yesterday, as usual, I called my wife with a VoIP, a new one I installed. It connected and I saw it was ringing on the “other side”. But I did hear nothing. I repeated it several times. Finally, I called my wife with my mobile. She scolded me: “What have you been doiing playing around with the phone?”. This morning I repeated the exercise and called my mobile phone. Which did ring ok. But I just hear nothing on my computer. As I am not good in “repair tools” and never understand anything, I decided to uninstall the new VoIP and use the old one. This one did not work either. So I reinstalled it. And now it (the old one) works. Moral of the story: Be happy with what you have! And lesson learnt: Why do I always run after “new things” instead of sticking to something that works?

     
  2. Baron's Life

    July 26, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Two very good and informative reads here.

     
  3. Neil

    July 26, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Nice to see you here Baron.

     

Leave a Reply

 
