RSS

Experiment

23 Aug

This entry is being written by a dictation in speech recognition. It is quite a strange experience:  composing an entry this way you have to speak very clearly.  It is not perfect as it often misinterprets what I say. For example, “in absurd ways” came up as  “in the ad showed why he’s” and then as “the ads so the lights”!

But I am told that the computer will gradually learn to recognize my voice and my pronunciation. The hats and Australian accent (which is the computer’s version of “Perhaps an Australian accent”) is rather challenging for the poor thing. Still I suppose it is amazing that it works at all. The last three words were “works at old” until I said all in a slightly American accent!  

But if I say very clearly to the computer “Open Windows Live Writer!” that’s exactly what it does. I typed that bit so the poor thing would not have a breakdown, as Live Writer is already open of course.

Now to see if WordPress is back online…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2009 in computers, diversions

 

2 responses to “Experiment

  1. Benjamin Solah

    August 24, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    I’m curious. I tried one of these things ages ago, but I’m sure they’ve progressed massively.

     
  2. Neil

    August 24, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Still seems a bit erratic — perhaps for Aussies especially? E.g. “might” and “mate” confuse it, and “dark” and “dock”.

    Have a new toy too; may try a spoken post soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
