RSS

Books I am reading, or am about to read

25 Aug

Thanks, Kevin from Louisiana, for the post idea. 🙂

I am currently reading:

  1. Edward Wright, Damnation Falls (US crime fiction 2007).
  2. Timothy Clack, Ancestral Roots (Science non-fiction 2009).

I am about to read:

  1. Karen Armstrong, The Great Transformation: The World in the Time of Buddha, Socrates, Confucius and Jeremiah (UK non-fiction history/theology 2006).
  2. D Michael Lindsay, Faith in the Halls of Power: How Evangelicals Joined the American Elite (US non-fiction politics, religion 2007).
 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 25, 2009 in personal, reading

 

One response to “Books I am reading, or am about to read

  1. Kevin

    August 30, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Ack! I somehow knew that you would be interested in reading a Karen Armstrong book. She’s such a shill for islam. I wonder how she will work the idea that islam is A-ok and is not misogynistic into a book about Buddha. I don’t see how, but I bet she will. She’ll probably blame the Buddhists’ insensibilities as the reason muslims kill so many of them. I’m half-joking, but I wouldn’t put it past her :). Even in a book about a time centuries before mohammed.

    Your second ‘about to’ book looks quite intriguing. I don’t know much about evangelicals, other than they seem to be the most caring, sharing, happy individuals that I’ve ever met. But I never considered them to be elite. Interesting idea.

     

Leave a Reply

 
