RSS

Seven

09 Nov

As mentioned yesterday I am now on Windows Seven, so now have the answer to The 2001st post — to seven or not to seven. The answer obviously is “yes”.

Plus

  • The ACER crapware has gone.
  • The computer works faster than it ever has, especially at boot-up.
  • I’ve worked out how to back up and have created a Repair DVD.
  • Live Writer works.
  • It looks nice.
  • My stored music plays better.

Puzzles

  • Because I installed over XP I wondered why my main disk was so full. Answer: Seven stored an “old computer” file that enables roll-back to XP, but suggest it can be cleaned if you are happy with Seven and everything works. A good idea that, but rather than having around 20 gig devoted to it I have decided I am happy.

Minus

  • The webcam software didn’t survive the transfer. I suspect I can do something about that, but then I hardly ever use it. **
  • My PIM doesn’t work. Solution – install another that does or use the calendar in Live Mail. ***
  • There was a lot of reinstalling non-Windows programs and Microsoft Office – but I had most of the relevant disks or set-up files, so that wasn’t too bad.

** Downloaded the software from ACER and fixed it! 🙂

*** Installed Rainlendar.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 9, 2009 in computers, personal

 

Leave a Reply

 
